The E. Ann Nalley Northwest Region Award

for Volunteer Service to the American Chemical Society

This award is to recognize the volunteer efforts of individuals who have served the American Chemical Society and contributed significantly to the goals and objectives of the Society through their regional activities.


The award will be presented at the 2024 ACS Northwest Regional Meeting (NORM 2024), which will be held at Washington State University on June 23-26, 2024. The ACS Northwest Region Award consists of an ACS plaque with medallion, reimbursement of up to $800 for transportation costs to travel to NORM 2024, and complimentary on-campus housing and registration for the meeting.


The deadline for submission of all nomination materials is March 31, 2024.


Any individual may nominate or support only one nominee for this award in any given year. Members of the award selection committee may not nominate or support a candidate.

Learn more about this award at

Previous Winners

2023—A. M. Ranjika Priyadarshi (Dharshi) Bopegederam, Puget Sound Section

2021—Jim Tung, Lacamas Laboratories, Portland Section

2019—Marcie Merritt, Portland Section

2018—Anna Cavinato, Eastern Oregon University, Richland Section

2016—James O. Currie, Jr., Portland Section

2015—Richard Nafshun, Oregon State University, Portland Section

2014—Janet L. Bryant, PNNL, Richland Section

2013—Martha G.K. Dibblee, Portland Section

2012—Henry Charlier, Jr., Snake River

2011—Thomas G. Dunne, Portland

2010—Richard Hermens, Eastern Oregon University (retired), Richland

2009—David Munch, Seattle Central Community College, Seattle

2008—Timothy Hubler, PNNL, Richland

2007—Nicholas Natale, Montana

2006—Jane Crosby, Inland Northwest

Dr. Elizabeth Ann Nalley

Dr. Elizabeth Ann Nalley received a PhD from Texas Woman’s University in 1975 and has spent her career on the chemistry faculty of Cameron University in Oklahoma. She served as President of the American Chemical Society in 2006.